Skip to content
This post may contain affiliate links. Please see my disclaimer for more details.

Audio Book: The Berinfell Prophesies Series

Curse of the Spider King

Our current audio book has been the The Berinfell Prophesies Series. We listen to this in the car as we drive to visit Grandma.

I just learned, that there are three books in this series. There are only two audio books, so I was unaware of the third book. Looks like it isn't in audio form yet, so I might have to purchase it to read aloud or the kids can continue if they like.

So, there are three books in this series...I guess it is now a trilogy. 😉

  1. Curse of the Spider King: The Berinfell Prophecies Series - Book One
  2. Venom and Song: The Berinfell Prophecies Series - Book Two
  3. The Tide of Unmaking: The Berinfell Prophecies Series - Book Three

So how do we like it?
We have been thoroughly entertained. Besides the Narnia series, we haven't listened to fantasy. So this is a nice change of pace. MaryEllen is into fantasy right now, which is one reason I chose this series.  The Berinfell Prophesies also got good reviews. {Wait! We also listened to the Kingdom Series, not sure if it is considered fantasy.}

We were unfamiliar with the authors, Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper, but have found them to be quite good at what they do. I plan on purchasing more from them.

As always, I am very pleased with the Oasis Audio production. I purposely choose books they record because they are excellently done.

What are they about?
A short synopsis is: Seven teenagers are about to find out that all is not as it seems. Once they turn 13, they notice weird things happening to them. They later find out that they are not human, but elves...from another world. Not only are they elves, but Elven lords. Not only are they Elven lords, but there is a prophesy that says they will save Allyra, their 'real' home. So, they are needed back home to save Allyra from the Spider King. Yes, there are giant spiders in the book. 🙂

We are still listening to Book 2, so I don't know what happens. They are now in Allyra and have trained to better use their powers. They are now on their quest and are learning how to work together and how to harness their powers through their mishaps and adventures.

Venom and Song


4 thoughts on “Audio Book: The Berinfell Prophesies Series

  1. Carolyn

    I just found this series. You say you listened to them. Where did you find book 3 on audio? I haven't been able to track that down.

    1. Cynthia Albright

      Hi Carolyn,
      We did listen to the first two books. I bought the third book and read it to the family. We were sad that it wasn't on audio, but we had a good time reading it together. It did take us a little longer to finish than a usual read-aloud because we only read it on my husband's days off a couple of chapters at a time. Some of the chapters were loooong. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂


  2. MaryEllen

    Sounds like an interesting series - I'm going to add this to list of "need to read" books. Although I'm not too certain about the spider part 😉 Oh well, at least it's not in movie form...although my imagination can be far more worse and vivid than movies. 🙂

    I'm a huge fantasy fan too! You should also try the Norby Chronicles, although I don't think they are in audio form...and it's more sci-fi but it also includes fantasy (dragons and such). MaryEllen and Donnie might enjoy them. They're some of my favorites! And of course Isaac Asimov is pretty well known.

    1. Cynthia Albright

      Yes, our imaginations can sometimes be worse! But, there aren't too many incidents with spiders. The first book does describe them, but after that they are mentioned, but not in detail. Now, the second book you see them more because this is the battle book. I think you will enjoy them.

      I am going to look up the Norby Chronicles. I know we have one book you gave us by Isaac Asimov. I should go find it and read it to the kids.

Comments are closed.